JavaScript must be enabled in order for you to use the Site in standard view. However, it seems JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser. To use standard view, enable JavaScript by changing your browser options.

| Last Updated:: 04/12/2014


Indian Council of Forestry Research and Education (ICFRE), an apex body in the national forestry research system, has been undertaking the holistic development of forestry research through need based planning, promoting, conducting and coordinating research, education and extension covering all aspects of forestry. The Council deals with the solution based forestry research in tune with the emerging issues in the sector, including global concerns such as climate change, conservation of biological diversity, combating desertification and sustainable management and development of resources. Topical research by the Council enhances public confidence in the ability of forest managers and researchers to successfully handle challenges related to natural resource management.


Objectives of ICFRE

ü  To undertake, aid, promote and coordinate forestry education, research and their applications.

ü  To develop and maintain a national library and information centre for forestry and allied sciences.

ü  To act as a clearing-house for research and general information related to forests and wildlife.

ü  To develop forestry extension programmes and propagate the same through mass media,

ü  Audio-visual aids and extension machinery.

ü  To provide consultancy services in the field of forestry research, education and allied sciences.

ü  To undertake other jobs considered necessary to attain these objectives.


Institutes and Centres under the Council

ICFRE has eight Regional Research Institutes and four Research Centres located in different Bio-geographical regions of the country to cater to the forestry research needs of the nation. The regional research Institutes are located at Dehradun, Coimbatore, Bangalore, Jabalpur, Jorhat, Jodhpur, Shimla and Ranchi and the Centres are at Allahabad, Chhindwara, Hyderabad and Aizawl.


Research Institutes under the Council are:


Forest Research Institute (FRI), Dehradun


Institute of Forest Genetics and Tree Breeding (IFGTB), Coimbatore


Institute of Wood Science and Technology (IWST), Bangalore


Tropical Forest Research Institute (TFRI), Jabalpur


Rain Forest Research Institute (RFRI), Jorhat


Arid Forest Research Institute (AFRI), Jodhpur


Himalayan Forest Research Institute (HFRI), Shimla


Institute of Forest Productivity (IFP), Ranchi